Professional Development Symposium for Teachers

 

Teaching the Holocaust isn't easy... let world experts guide you!

 Improve your skills with the best tools, strategies, and resources for teaching about the Holocaust & genocide.

Build your own schedule with keynote speakers, conversations with Holocaust survivors, and breakout sessions!

Choose from 20+ sessions (45-90 minutes in length). Two sessions are available in French.

*We will ask you to choose your preferred sessions to gauge interest. You will be able to change your sessions at the event.

Check out program descriptions!

Sunday, March 7

SURVIVOR LOUNGE
Conversations with Holocaust Survivors Rose Lipszyc (in English) or Denise Hans (en Francais)*
1:00pm - 1:30pm Pacific Time
4:00pm - 4:30pm Eastern Time

KEYNOTE
"Holocaust Education Now: Connecting Students to History"
Dr. Stephen D. Smith, USC Shoah Foundation
1:30pm - 2:15pm Pacific Time
4:30pm - 5:15pm Eastern Time

KEYNOTE
"Strategies for Teaching about Antisemitism in Your Classroom"
Dr. Doris Bergen & Chrissy Matzen, University of Toronto
2:30pm - 3:15pm Pacific Time
5:30pm - 6:15pm Eastern Time

Monday, March 8

SURVIVOR LOUNGE
Conversations with Holocaust Survivors Edith Gelbard or Nate Leipciger
12:30pm - 1:00pm Pacific Time
3:30pm - 4:00pm Eastern Time
 

CHOOSE FIRST BREAKOUT SESSION
1:00pm - 1:45pm Pacific Time
4:00pm - 4:45pm Eastern Time

Option #1:
Antisemitism: Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow - Film and Lesson Plan
Dr. Tsipy Gur & Ellen Resnek
Classrooms Without Borders

Option #2:
Frozen Moments: What is Revealed in the Photographs of Auschwitz?
Paul Salmons

Option #3:
Effective Approaches to Teaching Antisemitism Today
Kim Klett
Echoes & Reflections

Option #4:
Les Expositions Educatives de Yad Vashem: "L’art au Coeur de la Shoah” et "Les enfants dans la tourmente de la Shoah"
*French-language program. English version available as first breakout session on March 9th
Yoni Berrous
Yad Vashem World Remembrance Center


CHOOSE SECOND BREAKOUT SESSION
2:15pm - 3:00pm Pacific Time

5:15pm - 6:00pm Eastern Time

Option#1:
Meeting the Challenges of Holocaust Education in Limited Time
Paul Salmons
*This program runs for 90 minutes

Option #2:
Cycles of Hate: Cross-curricular Resources to Address and Teach about Antisemitism and Hate
Jodi Derkson
FAST (Fighting Antisemitism Together)

Option #3:
Who Is A Jew? Judaism 101 for Holocaust Education
Corey Margolese
JTeach.ca

Option #4:
Teaching with Testimony in IWitness
Lesly Culp USC Shoah Foundation

Tuesday, March 9

CHOOSE FIRST BREAKOUT SESSION
1:00pm - 1:45pm Pacific Time
4:00pm - 4:45pm Eastern Time

Option #1:
Bring the Voices of Canadian Holocaust Survivors into Your Classroom using Re:Collection
Marc-Olivier Cloutier
Azrieli Foundation

Option #2:
Yad Vashem Educational Exhibits: "Art in the Holocaust" and "The Children in the Holocaust"
Josh Hacker
Canadian Society for Yad Vashem

Option #3:
Teaching "Salvaged Pages: Young Writers' Diaries of the Holocaust"
Jasmine Wong & Alexandra Zapruder
Facing History and Ourselves

Option #4:
Inspiring and Empowering Youth Through Holocaust Education
Kenra Mroz
Centre for Holocaust Education and Scholarship

CHOOSE SECOND BREAKOUT SESSION
2:15pm - 3:00pm Pacific Time

5:15pm - 6:00pm Eastern Time

Option #1:
Practical Strategies for Addressing Online Hate Speech & Antisemitism
Melissa Mikel
Friends of Simon Wiesenthal Center for Holocaust Studies

Option #2:
Teaching Issues of Today Using Holocaust Literature for Young People
Kathy Kacer, Larry Swartz & Margie Wolfe
Second Story Press

Option #3:
Antisemitism, Propaganda and the Holocaust: Teaching Resources from the Vancouver Holocaust Education Centre
Ilona Shulman Spaar
Vancouver Holocaust Education Centre

Option #4:
Comprendre l’Histoire de l’Holocauste à Travers les Expériences Personnelles, des Outils pour Enseigner en Présentiel ou en Distanciel
Anne Marguet
Montreal Holocaust Museum

SURVIVOR LOUNGE
Conversations with Holocaust Survivors Elly Gotz or Max Eisen
3:00pm - 3:30pm Pacific Time

6:00pm - 6:30pm Eastern Time

Registration is still open! To register for this event, please go to https://hopin.com/events/liberation-75-teacher-pd